soundsdelicious

In Uncategorized on February 25, 2008 at 6:20 am

She stares back at me. Blinks once slowly before looking down into the sink. Her hair is pulled back in a ponytail, but a few strands of hair have escaped to fall around her bangs. She looks up again to meet my eyes.

She’s me.

Older. Smile lines crease her cheeks that have grown full. I’m gripping the sink of a strange bathroom, not one in New Jersey, not one I grew up with. It’s fresh looking with a wide open window that blows in the Spring air, ruffling the thin, white curtains.

It feels like Easter. I’m wearing a light green sun dress with a white, half sweater over it. It’s cool, breezy, nice.

One of my hands is gripping the sink, the other holding my stomach tight. I’ve been standing there staring for hours it seems. It seems like I’ve been crying, my eyes are red, puffy, my lips drawn straight, a bit lifeless.

It’s gone, I can feel it.

Before I know it, the realization hits me too hard, down to my knees I fall. Crying into my hands, I kneel folded on the floor.

His hand touches my shoulder. Soon I can feel his body behind me, on the floor with my crumpled body. His lips pressed to my ear, but I can’t hear him. It’s gone.

…Now only if I can stop dreaming about it.

Leave a Reply

